Switch.

NinNews1

Last week after what felt like a lifetime of waiting Nintendo finally lifted the curtain on their newest console, the Nintendo Switch. I’m sure by now you’ve seen or at least read the event highlights as everyone seemed to have an opinion on the unveiling, hell I too would have like to offer my immediate thoughts on the event but real life got in the way. That said however perhaps such was for the best, now having had time to digest what Nintendo served up a more measured response can be issued so here goes.
I’m not going to rehash the whole event again here, as I said I’m sure you’ve seen or read about it elsewhere already but what I will say is how struck I was with how clearly this presentation demonstrated Nintendo’s gear change, marketing wise from the Wii U to the Switch. It reminded me very much of the Wii era Nintendo, as did the likes of 1-2-Switch & to a lesser extent, Arms. Thankfully however my nerves were eased with the impressive wave of titles that came after, Fire Emblem Warriors, Project Octopath Traveler, Shin Megami Tensei, Xenoblade Chronicles 2 and of course Super Mario Odyssey which looks amazing. Heck even Bomberman made a surprise comeback after the show with Super Bomberman R making the Switch software line for the year ahead one to be excited about, sadly the same cannot be said for the console’s price, Nintendo’s decision to charge for online usage, the system’s shocking battery life or the limited number of titles available.
By the end of the event and more than a week on the Switch’s issues are clear for all to see but very difficult for Nintendo to resolve at this point, posing the question, will the Switch really be worth investing in? Well I certainty think so & as such will be pre-ordering mine next week however I’m doing so with realistic expectation, I’m buying the Switch for Nintendo games & oddities like Super Bomberman R, if games like that are enough for you then so should you.

switch

2 Comments

  1. I like the idea of a console/handheld hybrid so hopefully the system will be a hit. The launch lineup is sparse, but then again the 3DS’ original lineup of games wasn’t brill and it still ended up being a hit.

Leave a Reply

