Vita 2?

PsNews1

The handheld market has always been a tough nut to crack, Sega, SNK and even Bandai found that out the hard way and it looks as if Sony may have come to the same conclusion if, comments made by the company’s president, Shuhei Yoshida, are anything to go by.
Fielding questions during EGX 2015 last week, Mr. Yoshida was asked if Sony had any plans for a Vita 2, to which he replied;

“People have mobile phones and it’s so easy to play games on smartphones and many of these games are free, or free to start. I myself am a huge fan of PlayStation Vita and we have worked really hard on designing every aspect. Touch-based games are fun – there are many games with really good design but having sticks and buttons make things totally different. So while I hope, like many of you, that this culture of playing portable games continues the climate is not healthy right now because of the huge dominance of mobile gaming.”

So there it is, no new Sony handheld until this smartphone trend dies downs. No new Sony handheld ever then?

Vita 2

17 Comments

    1. Sales haven’t been good, there is no denying that however I’d blame that more on a lack of first party titles instead of mobile gaming as Sony have here.

      1. Games development is getting ever more expensive and so naturally we’re seeing less and less big name titles. Sony have tried to fill the void with indie games but there quality varies far too wildly.

      2. I guess you can call it what you want, but Sony has really dropped the ball on quite a few occasions in my honest opinion.

        I waited 6 years before I brought a used PS3 for $50 at my local pawn shop. It looks like I’ll be waiting just as long for a PS4 :].

        I’m not saying the Xbox One has a groundbreaking lineup, but at least it’s getting games. I personally want Tomb Raider, but I know I won’t own it until next year January.

      3. I think all three home consoles and the handhelds are a little light on software at the moment and all for different reasons. That said Sony have managed to get more PS4s into more homes then either the Wii U or the XOne so they are in the best position to turn that around.

      4. I think I’ll agree to disagree on this one. The PS4 has gotten crap this year in terms of games. The only decent game I can think of is Bloodborne. The Wii U still has games lined up for the rest of the year for both 3DS, and Wii U.

        Sony themselves admitted that their console don’t have games. Their slogan Great Awaits is true because ever since the console came out I’ve been waiting for greatness to come to it.

      5. The Wii U does indeed have games waiting in the wings but between Splatoon in May and Mario Maker/Devil’s Third last month there wasn’t a single game of note released and that’s not good.
        Meanwhile the 3DS is in much better shape sure but a glance at the top ten 3DS message boards on GameFAQS shows 5 of them are long established titles while the newest game on the list is Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer and I think that speaks volumes.

        That said I’ll happily agree Sony should have more to show given the PS4’s success but my point here is I don’t think any of the big three are really living up to expectation at the moment but that’s what happens when you depend on third parties to make the bulk of the games on your console.

      6. Gamefaqs isn’t a very reliable site to go by. The Devil’s Third isn’t out in the West yet and neither is Yoshi’s Wooly World. Xenoblade Chronicles isn’t out yet. The 3DS is getting Super Pokemon Mystery Dungeon, Yo Kai Watch, a new Zelda game, and some other stuff I can’t think of at the moment.

        The Xbox One is getting Fable Legends, don’t bother with that one, Rise of The Tomb Raider, and Halo 5.

        What is the PS4 getting again?… They’re depending solely on third party content right now. I honestly can’t wait for Yoshi’s Wooly World, Yo Kai Watch, and Xenoblade Chronicles X. The Wii U has had a good year. Whether or not you like the games that released doesn’t mean it has had any games of note. I know there’s another Mario Tennis game coming out. It looks like fun, but I’m not sure if I’m getting it yet.

      7. I’ve always found Gamefaqs a decent indicator of what gamers are playing and as for Devil’s Third it’s been out here in the UK since August, I’ve got it.

        Again I’m not saying the Wii U hasn’t got big name games coming, personally I think the console has the best games library this gen so far and plenty more on the horizon which I plan to get however the gap between these release are just far too vast for my liking and if Nintendo would invest more money making console games instead of mobile ones that might not be the case but that’s another story.

        As for Sony well, I think we agree it’s a mistake to entrust the bulk of your games development to the third parties but sales-wise that doesn’t seem to be hurting the PS4 in anyway and more sales will lead to a lot more games in the future, we just need to wait as we do with the Wii U.

      8. Sony’s console is selling well because it’s popular. Not because it’s great. I would already have one if any of the games, besides Bloodborne, appealed to me. I know too many people that have sold their PS4’s at pawn shops or just stopped playing them because of the lack of games on it.

        I know the Wii U games have come out everywhere else, but they haven’t here in America. That’s what I meant with my previous Wii U comment. I’m really looking forward to Xenoblade Chronicles, The Devil’s Third, and Yoshi’s Wooly World. I have to get Super Mario Maker too. I can get really creative with that game.

        Right now I’ll stick to PC/ Wii U. The thing I use my Xbox for is to play my Madden games. I need my football fix :].

      9. I don’t actually think the PS4 is all that much more popular then the XOne I just think the XOne is still suffering from that shocking E3 a few years back where Microsoft threatened to cut gamers supply of pre owned games off. Despite the backtracking the backlash continues and Sony are capitalizing sales-wise.

        As for the Wii U I think we’re on the same page, Devil’s Third is a damn fun game despite what some reviewers would have you believe, Xenoblade Chronicles should be great and Mario Maker could quite possibly become a major franchise for Nintendo.

        I just wish all three companies would start making more of their own games, or in the case of Gears of War making great third party games first party games.

      10. Nintendo has never lacked first party games.

        I agree that both Sony, especially Sony right now, and Microsoft needs to add more first party games. I’m looking forward to Crackdown 3, Quantom Break, and Scalebound.

        On the PS4 I’m looking forward to Street Fighter V, but I’m getting that on PC so…

    1. I couldn’t agree more, support has been the Vita’s Achilles heel from almost day one and I think in truth Sony know this. Mobile gaming is just a convenient scapegoat.

Leave a Reply

