Sakurai’s Final Smash?

NinNews1

From it’s humble beginnings back on the N64 Super Smash Bros. has grown and grown to become not just one of Nintendo’s most beloved titles but a game which take a serous amount of effort to make, so much effort in fact, series creator Masahiro Sakurai has told Game Informer he’s unsure if he’ll personally work on another.
“With both Melee and Brawl, I made those games with the thought that there wouldn’t be any more sequels. Thus, I really can’t deny the chance for another. However, as for myself, I don’t think there will be.
Our intention with Super Smash Bros. for Wii U you see was to provide extra merits to the game which would go far beyond the sale price both, in terms of scope and in terms of the sheer number of characters, we went beyond our limits long ago and yet, if we cut the number of fighters or modes in any future game, I’m sure there would be complaints.
You could say then that all the effort in the past to stretch out, pushing myself and provide all these extra merits wound up tightening the noose around my neck in the future.
That may seem like it contradicts my personal desire to keep giving gamers as much as I can but I don’t see any easy answer for it.”
So there you have it, a clearly torn Sakurai, however I think it only fair to point out that he
made some very similar comments following the release of Brawl so maybe he’s just more burnt-out than ready to quit. Time well no doubt tell.

Sakurai's Finally Smash

Leave a Reply

