Sakamoto Moving On From Metroid?

NewsV1

“What are Nintendo planning to do with…?’ This is a question asked across forums the world over day in day out with the name in the sentence usually being either Star Fox, F-Zero or Metroid. Today we’ll be discussing Metroid and while we’re not quite sure what Nintendo is actually planning to do with Samus and Co. we do know that series creator Yoshio Sakamoto won’t have an awful lot to do with it at all. During an interview with CVG, Mr. Sakamoto, who was promoting his newest game Tomodachi Life was asked whether he would in the future continue to create titles or return to existing ones? His answer was quite clear.

“I do not intend to do so. There might currently be various tasks I might be involved in with past series. However, even if so I would always like to introduce new entertainment and new fun to those series. I would like to satisfy fans of those series, but also working with other talented individuals I would like to create entertainment that’s completely different and that brings new emotions. I would like to challenge myself in those unique directions. This might be indirect, but if we can make new types of gamers enjoy video games for the first time through Tomodachi Life, then they might eventually become interested in the more conventional games. I think we need to ensure that video games remain attractive to consumers, and in order to do so new concepts and ideas are important. I would like to challenge myself to do that.”

So there you go, the mere suggestion that Yoshio Sakamoto won’t be returning to the series he created will likely please some Metroid fans no end, namely those who hated Other M however a word of caution; without the likes of Mr. Sakamoto at least chipping in in some fashion, we risk losing the very essence of Metroid altogether and be you an Other M or Prime fan that can’t be good.

Sakamoto Moving On From Metroid

4 Comments

  1. What are your opinions on the Metroid series? I like the traditional Metroid games, but my aversion to first person views meant that I never got on with Prime. I didn’t play Other M, but from what I hear it was awful.

  2. Right so Super Metroid might be my favourite SNES game of all time and its hands down the best of all the Metroid titles no question. The Prime trilogy meanwhile I enjoyed but found that the first one outshone the other two by some distance so my interest did begin to wane towards the end of that series.
    As for Other M well, I really liked it. Now I know that’s a minority view on the GameFAQs boards and the like but I think most people who dislike Other M do so not because of the game’s gameplay which, coincidentally is the closest thing to traditional Metroid we’ve had since Fusion (2002) but because Sakamoto chose to portray Samus more like a woman then a female version of Master Chief. I always tell anyone who asks me about Other M to give it a try, it’s never going to be Super Metroid I’ll happily admit that but neither was Prime was it?

      1. It is true, I am indeed a frequent lurker of the GameFAQs boards. Wii, Wii U (when I can stomach it) and the Dreamcast board are my usual hangouts but I visit a number of others (Skies of Arcadia, Persona 3,4,5, Lucifer’s Call and PS Vita, etc) as well.

Leave a Reply

