Koji Igarashi Takes His Leave.

NewsV1

You may or may not recognise his name but you’ve almost certainly played one of his games as Koji Igarashi has spent much of his career shaping the Castlevania series into the 2D masterpiece we know today. His long term involvement with the much loved Dracula slaying series along with his employment to Konami ended on Saturday, however Mr. Igarashi announced he would be leaving the company immediately. Here’s what he told his fans.
“I’ve decided to break out on my own to have the freedom to make the kind of games I really want to make, the same kind I think fans of my past games want as well, Leaving Konami was a big decision, and not one I took lightly. I’ve spent my entire career there, made many friends and had a lot of great opportunities. But I hope all the gamers and fans who have supported me in the past will join me in being excited about what comes next. Wish me luck.”
Mr. Igarashi’s wish to create the games he and his fans want is most likely a passing shot at Konami themselves who have practically abandoned the 2D Castlevania series now altogether and might just lead to a Mighty No 9/Keiji Inafune like situation where Mr. Igarashi could go on to create a spiritual successor to Castlevania. Here’s hoping.

Koji Igarashi Takes His Leave.

2 Comments

  1. I loved the 2D handheld Castlevanias, but have never got on with the franchise’s attempts to go 3D. Hopefully Igarashi can make equally good 2D games where ever he ends up.

  2. While I found Lord of Shadows to be a decent effort at a Castlevania it didn’t capture the magic of the 2D games at all. I too then hope Igarashi will go on to create something that does as it doesn’t look like anyone else will.

Leave a Reply

